Cast announced for Doris Lessing’s Each His Own Wilderness

Cast from Doris Lessing's Each His Own Wilderness

Artistic Director Paul Miller announces the cast for his production of Each His Own Wilderness will be Susannah Harker, Rosie Holden, Clare Holman, John Lightbody, Joel MacCormack, Roger Ringrose and Josh Taylor.


Opening on 15 April, this rare play from the Nobel Prize-winning novelist Doris Lessing is set in 1958 just two years after Look Back in Anger transformed the theatrical landscape. It sees Tony (Joel MacCormack), back from National Service disillusioned and dissatisfied, finding his mother still the political activist she's been since her since youth. To Myra (Clare Holman), Tony's attitude is a mystery – where's the anger?

Myra and her friend Milly (Susannah Harker)'s restless Bohemianism leads them to a complex, erotic entanglement with the younger generation and exposes fault-lines in their own generation's complacency. 

Find out more about Each His Own Wilderness and book tickets here

Susannah Harker recently played Florence in The Vortex at The Gate Theatre, Dublin, and Susan in Abigail’s Party at the Menier Chocolate Factory and Wyndham’s. Her early work on television includes playing Jane Bennett in the BBC’s Pride and Prejudice and Mattie Storin in House of Cards with Ian Richardson. Other stage work includes: Little Platoons (Bush); Jingo (Finborough); Old Times (Theatre Royal Bath); Simon Stephen’s On the Shore of the Wide World (Royal Exchange/National Theatre); Masha in Michael Blakemore’s production of Three Sisters (Playhouse); Uncle Vanya (Lincoln Center, New York); Tartuffe (Almeida); David Hare’s Racing Demon (National Theatre); and Vigilia in Coriolanus (Chichester).

Rosie Holden work in theatre includes Love Me Do (Watford Palace); Mother Courage (The Platform Theatre); Kindertransport (UK tour); and After the Ball (Theatre 503).

Clare Holman recently played the Young Queen in Moira Buffini’s hit play Handbagged at the Tricycle and the ongoing role of Dr Laura Hobson in TV’s Lewis. Her stage work includes The House of Special Purpose (Chichester); Separate Tables (Royal Exchange Theatre); Tartuffe, Abigail in The Crucible and Angels in America (National Theatre); and Isabella in Measure for Measure (RSC). TV includes Scott and Bailey, Death in Paradise, Hunter, Fallen Angel, Fallout, Derailed, Prime Suspect, Island at War, The Lakes, Kid in the Corner and Close Relations.

John Lightbody’s work in theatre includes Filter’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Three Sisters (Lyric Hammersmith); Ghost Stories (Duke of York’s); The English Game (Headlong); the title role in Richard III (Southwark Playhouse); Jane Eyre (Shared Experience); A Doll’s House (West Yorkshire Playhouse); Measure for Measure, Richard III and Taming of the Shrew (RSC). TV includes Wallander, Agatha Raisin, DCI Banks, The Musketeers, Father Brown and The Bletchley Circle.

Joel MacCormack’s theatre credits include Oppenheimer and The Shoemaker’s Holiday (RSC). TV includes Wolf Hall. Radio includes three series of Homefront.

Roger Ringrose’s work in theatre includes The Importance of Being Earnest and Travesties (Birmingham Rep); Burnt by the Sun and Never So Good (National Theatre); The Picture (Salisbury Playhouse). TV includes Broadchurch, Mr Selfridge, The Musketeers, The Hour, Waking the Dead, Marchlands and Spooks.

Joel Taylor’s (Sandy) theatre credits include Les Enfants Terribles (White Bear); Arabian Nights, The Robbers and The Apartment (The Faction). Films include Bad Education and Testament of Youth.

Go back